17035 Brunswick Blvd., Suite 5, Kirkland, QC H9H 5G6

About Us


History of AAESQ

During the 1997-1998 school year, representatives of the Quebec Association of School Administrators (QASA) and the Quebec Association of Catholic Administrators (QACSA), met on an on-going basis with the objective of forming a new association of educational administrators. This was done to coincide with the amalgamation of school boards from confessional to linguistic boards for July 1, 1998. The Association of Administrators of English Schools of Quebec (AAESQ) became a legal entity on August 11, 1998.

The QASA negotiating team was represented by Ron Silverstone (President), Ed Meehan (Executive Director), Gregor Campbell (who became the first President of AAESQ), David Hogg (who succeeded Gregor) and Howard Schwartz. The QACSA negotiating team was represented by Helen Vertolli (President), Larry de Gruchy (Executive Director), Shane Rathburn (the third President of AAESQ), Frank Dottin and Lloyd Rideough.

The Annual Spring Conference, which was a highlight of the QASA years, became a mainstay of the new Association. Each year different boards are asked to host the Conference, which requires a lot of time and effort by members of that particular board.

AAESQ is built on the strengths of the original associations, QASA and QACSA. The retention of the best from the past along with a recognition of what still needs to be done will guide the future course of AAESQ. AAESQ is confident that we have met the high standards set by those who have contributed to the proud history of QASA and QACSA.